Wondering how to post images or maybe change your avatar or maybe something else?
You can find that and a lot of other useful tips for using the forums in the HydrostreamForums Knowledge Base.

To visit the HydrostreamForums Knowledge Base CLICK HERE

vector paint problem

Restoring your Hydrostream or just giving it a small makeover? What better place than to show off your project. Big or small.

Topic Author
265mercman
Hydrostream Addict
Hydrostream Addict

vector paint problem

ok so i started painting tnriverrat's vector and had it all sanded down then i when i started primering it the primer started to crack very bad all over it looked like a dryed up muddle puddle in 120degree weather i sanded them out 3 times still could see them alittle bit then one finale sanding and they was gone so i painted it and still got some that came thru what causes this didnt see them in the paint below just in the primer mixed it like i have a hundred times before and never no problems till now
79 vector missing in action!!!!!

2006 vking center steer

brianincc
The new guy
The new guy

Re: vector paint problem

What kind of primer? Did it begin to crack immediately or as it dried? Did you wipe down with a prep solvent of some sort? I've seen primer mudcrack if it is laid on too heavy as well. It really sounds like surface contamination to me, probably wax. I had a guy bring an old stratos bass boat to me a few years ago to be painted. I was looking the boat over and noticed to gel just didn't feel right. I asked him what he had been putting on the boat and he said brake fluid :shock: Long story short, nothing we tried would remove the surface contamination from that boat.

YDOC462
HSF Lifetime Supporter
HSF Lifetime Supporter