Wondering how to post images or maybe change your avatar or maybe something else?
You can find that and a lot of other useful tips for using the forums in the HydrostreamForums Knowledge Base.

To visit the HydrostreamForums Knowledge Base CLICK HERE

86 200 merc overheating

The place for mechanics, racers, or anyone seeking engine-related technical help.

Topic Author
dmottjr
Getting my feet wet
Getting my feet wet

86 200 merc overheating

been haveing some overheating problems hit a log the other day now it overheats when i get on it .found wood in waterpump replaced pump and houseing again .took it out today idle temp ok soon as a get on it temp gage rises fast water stream good comeing from piss hole still climbs fast and alarm sounds can someone help me stats and pump r new thanks .im a rookie on outboards

Topic Author
dmottjr
Getting my feet wet
Getting my feet wet

Re: 86 200 merc overheating

help please

luckydog
Getting my feet wet
Getting my feet wet

If there was wood in the pump it might be assumed there could be some in the cooling lines. You may have to take them off and blow them out. You may have some wood in the block too. Did you remove the pump drive to ensure it didn't strip the teeth on it's drive? Wondering, did you properly install the housing? I'm not familiar with that particular motor but the connection of the housing to the cooling lines may be the culprit. I'd want to make sure the lines were clean regardless though any wood in them may have found it's way into the water jacket (block). That's my two bits...Good luck.

77viper
HSF Supporting Vendor
HSF Supporting Vendor

Run the motor on muffs with the thermostats and popit out to flush the block. It sounds like the popit is stuck. If that doesn't work pull the lower again and backflush. Did you replace the.pump base?

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] Image
Samari on s&f
Chet Olson

75 viper 2.4 200, 130 shot of NOS
91 vegas loaned out
79 vking project 2.5 280

Topic Author
dmottjr