Wondering how to post images or maybe change your avatar or maybe something else?
You can find that and a lot of other useful tips for using the forums in the HydrostreamForums Knowledge Base.

To visit the HydrostreamForums Knowledge Base CLICK HERE

Is this a good thing?

Have questions about fiberglass, gel-coat, or core repairs well as composite questions?

Topic Author
bj71chevelle
Getting my feet wet
Getting my feet wet

Is this a good thing?

I'm new to the Hydrostream Forum and Hydrostream boats in general. What an awesome resource this is! I have loved Hydrostreams since I was a teenager and have always wanted one. I am interested in purchasing a 1985 Vulture, but I'm concerned about some "aluminum work" that has been done to the transom area. I have never seen this before and I was hoping someone could explain what it is and whether or not it's a good thing to have on such a boat or a sign of more serious problems. I would appreciate any and all feedback and opinions regarding this particular boat. Thank you.

[URL=http://s996.photobucket.com/user/bj71chevelle/media/Hydrostream%202.jpg.html][img]http://i996.photobucket.com/albums/af89/bj71chevelle/Hydrostream%202.jpg[/img][/url]

transomstand
Hydrostream Addict
Hydrostream Addict

Is this a good thing?

Boat's a wreck, would need a full resto. The aluminum is a desperate attempt to stop the transom from flexing. Nice looking fab job but a sound hull needs none of that.

Welcome to the board, I'm Pete and I know everything.
transomstand
Original owner 1975 Ventura II SE

Topic Author
bj71chevelle
Getting my feet wet
Getting my feet wet

Is this a good thing?

Thanks Pete. I was somewhat sceptical about the condition of the transom as well. Would you recommend I forget this boat and move on or would it make a good restoration candidate? I guess I'm wondering if it is worth saving????

[ Post made via Android ] Image

transomstand
Hydrostream Addict
Hydrostream Addict

Is this a good thing?